Log in

AISA is dedicated to transforming student learning by leading and supporting professional growth, good governance, strategic thinking, and the wellbeing of the entire AISA community of schools.

Log in

Login here

Nominate a student from your school  

Student Service Leader Award  

2019/20 Award Winners

Shivani Kakkad

International School of Tanganyika (IST)

Shivani is an exceptional student leader who has the ability to motivate her peers and execute impressive, large scale events under her watchful eye. She delegates roles and responsibilities to her peers but also models how to be successful in those positions and gives clear expectations to those around her. Ultimately, she is able to balance her commitment to her service project and her coursework and through all the challenging work she shows grace and dedication.

Student Service Leader

This award is for a student service leader(s) who is able to demonstrate a commitment to his/her community and how he/she has used learning, critical thinking and problem-solving skills to address an expressed community need.

The student(s) must be able to demonstrate:

    1. Personal growth through service
    2. Integration into the school’s service learning program
    3. Learning outcomes
    4. Personal reflection
    5. A deeper understanding of the community/individual with whom he/she undertook the project


      Up to three US$1,500 awards will be granted to a school in recognition of a student or a group of students who demonstrate their service and commitment to the community. The school may choose to allocate this funding to a project or make this available for students to attend the AISA Global Issues Service Summit (GISS). Students will receive a plaque and letter from AISA in recognition of their outstanding achievement.

      Nomination Guidelines

      Each AISA Full Member school is invited to nominate a student/group of students each year to be considered for this award.

      • Only one application per school per award, please select the best 
      • The deadline for submission of your school nominee is March 1st
      • Award recipients will be confirmed at the AISA Board meeting in March
      • A plaque and a letter will be sent to the school head to be presented to the award recipient at the school year-end ceremony.

      AISA would like to acknowledge past winners of this award:

      2019/20 Winner

      Student Service Leader
      • Shivani Kakkad, International School of Tanganyika

      2018/19 Winners

      Student Service Leader
      • Amani Kiruga - International School Kenya
      • Ayushi Uniyal - Lincoln Community School
      • Marie Coura Diagne - IQRA Bilingual Academy

      Service Leader Award — Highly Commended

      • Roxane Farida Beyire Somda - International School of Ouagadougou
      • Andrei Volcov -  American International School of Johannesburg
      • Dominatha Kibhisa - International School of Tanganyika
      • Asiya Hasanat - International School of Tanganyika
      • Kiridan Munro - Bishop Mackenzie International School
      • Eloise Van Niekerk - American International School of Lusaka
      • Ashraf Hishamuddin Hazim - Windhoek International School
      • Niharika Gupta - The American School of Kinshasa

      2017/18 Winners

      • Daisy and Cassandra Owei - American International School Cape Town
      • Sara Hulda Compaore - International School of Ouagadougou
      • Ella Blanchard - International School of Kenya

      2016/17 Winners

      • Shiri Asangwe - American School of Yaounde 
      • Sidhonie Page-Smith - American International School of Johannesburg (AISJ)
      • David Buckley - American International School of Lusaka (AISL)

      2015/16 Winners

      • Maurice Frunche Ngwakum-Akisa – American International School of Lusaka (AISL)
      • Sebastian Suarez - American International School of Mozambique (AISM)
      • Adoma Addo – Lincoln Community School (LCS)

      2014/15 Winners

      • Melissa Marketos - American International School Mozambique
      • Kedest Mathewos - International Community School Addis Ababa
      • Antonia Shaw - International School Kenya
      • Oumar Karaga & Dhan Shemaiah Bayasen - International School Ouagadougou
      • Steffi Halder & Alishah Janmohamed - International School of Tanganyika

      For more information on these awards contact AISA at


      Physical Address:
      Peponi Road
      PO Box14103-00800,
      Nairobi, Kenya.
      Tel: +254 (0) 20 2697442 / 8076067

      Follow our activities

      © 2020 Association of International Schools in Africa. All rights reserved.
      Site design by Advance Web Design.

      Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software